Fair Trade Standards

Rigorous standards are the way we fulfill our mission and deliver full benefits to producers and businesses we work with. They are tailor-made for each industry to ensure that we’re all working together toward the same goal. Earning fair trade certification is an ongoing process, and we’re here to help you succeed.

Agricultural Production Standard (APS)

APS Overview





Price and Premium Information

Special Price and Premium Terms

Transition Policy

Temporary Authorization to Trade Policy

Requirements for Certificate Scope

Changes to Certificate Scope Procedure

Prohibited and Restricted Pesticides List

Multiple Ingredient Product Policy

Agriculture Program Assurance Manual

Interpretations for the Agricultural Production Standard

Unannounced Audit Policy

Change of Conformity Assessment Body Policy

Change of Conformity Assessment Body Request Form

Supporting guidance

Living Wage Benchmarks for Employers in Agricultural Production

Guidance for Determining Scope

Guide to Identifying the Premium Participants

Score System Guide

Guidance on Premium Spending Rules

Cocoa Fair Trade Minimum Price in Price-Regulated Markets

Our global model

Standards are the framework of our global model. By adhering to them, you enable income sustainability, community and individual well-being, empowerment, and environmental stewardship. Learn more about our global model to get the big picture, see the quality standards we set for our own organization, or report an issue.

How we set and revise our standards

Standards development and revision

In accordance with ISEAL, the APS will be reviewed at least every five years. The next revision is planned for 2022-2023.

Handling complaints

To submit a formal complaint against the Fair Trade USA standard-setting process, or to see how we handle complaints, download our Procedural Complaints Policy (in English, en español).

Legacy standards

Any time we update our standards, we will give our partners a transition period to comply with any new changes. During that time, both old and new versions of the standard will be available online.