Fair Trade Standards

Rigorous standards are the way we fulfill our mission and deliver full benefits to producers and businesses we work with. They are tailor-made for each industry to ensure that we’re all working together toward the same goal. Earning fair trade certification is an ongoing process, and we’re here to help you succeed.

Capture Fisheries Standard (CFS)

CFS Overview





Price and Premium Information

Requirements for Certificate Scope

Changes to Certificate Scope Procedure

Multiple Ingredient Product Policy

Temporary Authorization to Trade Policy

Unannounced Audit Policy

Change of Conformity Assessment Body Policy

Change of Conformity Assessment Body Request Form

Seafood Program Assurance Manual

Supporting guidance

Productivity and Susceptibility Analysis

Guidance for Workspace Safety

Guidance for Determining Scope Under the Capture Fisheries Standard

Guidance on Required Trainings

Guidance for the Resource Management Section of the Capture Fisheries Standard

CFS Compliance Tracking Tool

Our global model

Standards are the framework of our global model. By adhering to them, you enable income sustainability, community and individual well-being, empowerment, and environmental stewardship. Learn more about our global model to get the big picture, see the quality standards we set for our own organization, or report an issue.

How we set and revise our standards

Standards development and revision

In accordance with ISEAL, the Capture Fisheries Standard will be reviewed at least every five years. The next major revision is planned for 2018-2019.

Handling complaints

To submit a formal complaint against the Fair Trade standard-setting process, or to see how we handle complaints, download our Procedural Complaints Policy (in English, en Español).

Legacy standards

Any time we update our standards, we will give our partners a transition period to comply with any new changes. During that time, both old and new versions of the standard will be available online.